Professor Jamie Rossjohn and Professor Dale Godfrey

Double Fellowships for our CI’s

Not one, but two Imaging CoE CI’s have been formally inducted into the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

Professor Jamie Rossjohn and Professor Dale Godfrey, CI’s and theme co-leaders for the Effector Function research program were welcomed into the Academy at a ceremony held in Adelaide on 19 October.

Professor Rossjohn and Professor Godfrey joined 47 other new Fellows from around Australia, representing many disciplines within the health and medical sciences, including basic and clinical science, public health and health services, physicians, surgeons and allied health practitioners.

Acknowledging the new Fellows contributions to health and medical research in Australia, the Academy’s President, Professor Ian Frazer AC, said “Health and medical research undertaken by the new Fellows of the Academy, and enabled by government and philanthropic funding, will help to ensure quality and equitable health care as we enter the age of precision medicine.”

The event, staged in collaboration with the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA), brought together Australia’s leaders in health and medical research, social and political science. Its theme was ‘Health Equity: Challenges & Solutions’.

Professor Rossjohn and Professor Godfrey are the second and third Centre members respectively, to be awarded a Fellowship from the Academy, joining CI Professor Kat Gaus who was inducted in 2015.

“On behalf of my team and I, I am delighted to receive recognition of my findings on immunity – research that has been conducted at Monash over the last 15 years. I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and highlight the tireless work of the research assistants in my laboratory, key members of the team whose work underpins our endeavours,” Professor Rossjohn said.

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, established in 2014, aims to develop a healthier and more health literate community.